Learn about the permanent exhibits at the Mercer Museum and Fonthill Castle that bring history to life.
Tour the Fonthill Castle grounds off of East Court Street with experts from the Doylestown Nature Club and explore the vast array of specimen trees and their history. Meet at Fonthill Welcome Center at 9:00 a.m. Buy Tickets to the Seasonal Grounds Tour of Fonthill Castlelearn more
Fonthill has over 200 windows all of varying sizes!
“Lucy” the horse was part of the work crew that built both Fonthill and the Mercer Museum. She hoisted the loads of mixed concrete up to workers.
All the concrete used to construct Fonthill (1908-1910) was mixed by hand!
There are 44 rooms in Fonthill including 10 bathrooms, 5 bedrooms and 18 fireplaces. Completed in 1910 Fonthill boasted modern conveniences- 2 dumbwaiters, an Otis elevator, an intercom buzzer system and phones to communicate within the house.
The Mercer Museum and Fonthill annually welcome visitors from all 50 states.
Henry Mercer was 51 when he began building the first of his three concrete structures, his home Fonthill, 1908-1910.
In addition to installing his own Arts and Crafts tiles in Fonthill, Henry Mercer incorporated Persian, Chinese, Spanish and Dutch tiles.
The Research Library of the Mercer Museum houses over 20,000 books, 2500 feet of county archives, over 12,000 images and more!
More than 60 Early American trades are represented in the Mercer Museum.
There are 44 rooms in Fonthill including 10 bathrooms, 5 bedrooms and 18 fireplaces.
Sign up now to stay up to date with the latest news from the Mercer Museum & Fonthill Castle.
Stay in touch with us through your favorite social networking sites.