Henry Mercer loved dogs, and his favorite breed was the Chesapeake Bay retriever. He had many of these dogs, some of which were named Jack, Sailor and Larry. Mercer’s favorite at the time of the construction of the Mercer Museum was Rollo. Mercer allowed Rollo to run through wet concrete in the newly constructed parts of the Museum. His enormous paws left equally large prints, which are still evident to Museum visitors on “Rollo’s Stairs” between the fifth and sixth floors today. Fonthill Castle also features “Rollo’s Stairs” – discover paw prints in the concrete stair treads in the Columbus Room.
There are 44 rooms in Fonthill including 10 bathrooms, 5 bedrooms and 18 fireplaces.
More than 60 Early American trades are represented in the Mercer Museum.
The Mercer Museum and Fonthill annually welcome visitors from all 50 states.
There are 44 rooms in Fonthill including 10 bathrooms, 5 bedrooms and 18 fireplaces. Completed in 1910 Fonthill boasted modern conveniences- 2 dumbwaiters, an Otis elevator, an intercom buzzer system and phones to communicate within the house.
The Research Library of the Mercer Museum houses over 20,000 books, 2500 feet of county archives, over 12,000 images and more!
Fonthill has over 200 windows all of varying sizes!
Among the oldest artifacts in the Mercer Museum are a 2,000 year old whale oil lamp and Native American implements dating to 6,000-8,000 BC.
“Lucy” the horse was part of the work crew that built both Fonthill and the Mercer Museum. She hoisted the loads of mixed concrete up to workers.
All the concrete used to construct Fonthill (1908-1910) was mixed by hand!
In addition to installing his own Arts and Crafts tiles in Fonthill, Henry Mercer incorporated Persian, Chinese, Spanish and Dutch tiles.
Sign up now to stay up to date with the latest news from the Mercer Museum & Fonthill Castle.
Stay in touch with us through your favorite social networking sites.